top of page

Monster Girl


Well here we are with book 3 of the Stargazer Series. Monster Girl is a thrilling book that I was lucky to receive from Travis in exchange for reviewing on Amazon. I was more than happy to read and review because I think Travis is such a talented writer and story teller. To give you a better idea of what it is about, here is the summary from Goodreads:

Stay and face a terrifying plague alone. Leave and face the wrath of the colonists who exiled her. A choice Evelyn may not survive. Exiled by the colonists she was created to protect, Evelyn is finding her way through life as an outcast. It isn’t easy though. The hollow feeling of hunger never leaves. And with winter approaching, she knows things are only going to get harder. Evelyn decides to leave Orsus; not even a beautiful alien enigma, blowing in over the western mountains of her camp, can persuade her to stay. But her plans to leave are cut short by a sickness bringing horrors Evelyn couldn’t have imagined in her worst nightmares. The sickness distorts her thoughts, warps her vision and reveals to her a shadowy darkness within herself that is vast and terrifying. Struggling for survival, Evelyn has no choice but to seek help from the colonists, knowing the penalty for returning could mean death. But when she arrives, Evelyn finds the colonists are dying by the hundreds from the same disease, and once again, she is confronted with the grim dilemma of her creation—should she help the people who torment her, or save herself, because she can’t do both.

I have been following Travis as an author from his first book. I have a review and interview here on my blog on Jane and the Exodus. I gave book one a 5 star rating, book 2 a 4, 4.5 star rating. Part of it broke my heart so badly that I had to take away part of a star. Book 3 redeemed it self and I went back up to 5 stars.

Travis has grown so much as a writer in my opinion. His imagination and reality blend is so impressive.

There is one character in particular, don't want to put any spoilers but the council woman, has intrigued me. Things happened in the story that made me see her as more human and I am more understanding towards her. I do not like her still but I did find her more of sometime to relate to and I can slightly understand her actions more, though I am by no means making excuses for her.

I was also impressed by the deadly pretty pink snow/flower petals. Even the most beautiful of things can be deadly!

As the year wraps up, I find myself proud of how I have expanded as a reader. Towards the end of this year, I have found less and less time to read, and even lost a bit of passion for it, which is so frustrating but when I read a book I enjoy as much as this one, I find myself remembering why books are such a huge and important part of my life.

As I go into this new year, I will continue to grow as both a mom and reader and not let me lose who I am. I have authors like Travis to remind me the beauty of a good story to get lost into. See you all next year!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page