top of page

Introduction


Hello and welcome to my blog. Thank you for giving me the chance to inspire you and let you possibly discover something wonderful. YA, especially contemporary is my favorite genre to read so the majority of my reviews will be based on YA books. However, I do read other books and will post my reviews on those as well.

Since the title of this site is Honestly YA, you can expect all my reviews to be as honest and raw as possible.

So you can learn a little about me, this will be my confessions post to get us started. 11 months ago, I gave birth to a wonderful, stunningly beautiful little boy. When I was younger, I didn't have huge plans on becoming a mom, I just assumed it would happen.

In 2008, I was raped. I got pregnant and I got beyond sick. I lost the baby 10 weeks into the pregnancy and nearly lost my life as well. It was at that time that the doctors told me I would never have kids. That they highly thought it was unlikely that I would be able to get pregnant, but if I did, I'd most likely die.

In 2015, after being with a guy I was in love with for 5 and a half years, we broke up one week after my birthday in September. I found out in October that I was pregnant. Boy was I scared! Here it goes, I thought, my death approaches.

So after a difficult, high risk pregnancy that included a rip roaring case of Hyperemesis Gravidarum, kidney stones, shots 2-3 times daily for blood thinners, having Lupus this pregnancy ended with preeclampsia, meaning I had my baby almost a month early via an emergency C-section.

I made it out alive as did my son Aiden. I cannot tell you how happy being a mother has made me, because for as much as I love to read and write, I can't find the words to express the love I have for him.

Sadly, my ex, his father, and I cannot get along. He has made my life hell. From not wanting the baby at all, to offering me money for an abortion, to claiming I faked my pregnancy, he now just wants to take over and pretend to be dad of the year. Now we are in and out of court, creating bigger and bigger lawyer fees. He choked me on Easter and I had to get a restraining order that just recently ended and now we are having to go back to visitation with him, which luckily for me, he does miss a lot of them.

With all of that going on, my mom, whom has been such a big support to me, suggested that I get a hobby I tried figuring out what to do. I no longer do sports or dance ballet, Aiden has too much therapy. What would be something to enjoy that I could do during visitation. Then it came to me. With my love of reading, and I always do reviews on Goodreads why not do a blog? I know there are so many wonderful ones out there but I am ready to make my own little corner on the net and if I can reach a person or two and recommend a good book, then I am happy. Thank you for stopping by!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page