top of page

Daisy Jones & The Six


What is there to say about this incredible novel? This book made me feel so alive, I cried, I laughed, I wished and wished that this was real because honestly, how is this fiction? Can someone explain to me how this band is NOT real because honestly? My heart can't believe it.

This is the first Taylor book I have read but it will be in no way the last book of hers I read (staring at Evelyn Hugo.) Emma and Hannah were just raving about this so much I had to buy it. I love The Runaways and the book Neon Angel and the more I heard about this book, the more I wanted it. Finally was buying diapers from Target and it was 30% off so I had to grab my copy then and there! I have NO regrets buying this. In case there is anyone who doesn't know what the story is about, here is the good reads summary:

Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now. Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock and roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things. Also getting noticed is The Six, a band led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road. Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes that the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend. The making of that legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.

So ok let's start with the negative part of the book for me. At the beginning, they talk about Daisy's eyes a quit a bit. What a brilliant blue they are. How a company even made contracts called Daisy blue and yet the girl on the cover has brown eyes. Also they talked about an iconic cd cover I think they could have used for the cover of the book. And as of right now freshly done reading, those are the two complaints I have!

Really, this book took me on a journey and is incredible. I had goosebumps reading this book and that doesn't happen very often. I can't say enough what this book means to me or how much I love the story and characters. Karen utterly broke my heart but I completely understand her. Daisy was so broken and flawed but I adored her, the music they wrote, I desperately hope they put in the tv show and make a cd for the show so we fan have it.

Billy, Camila, oh my gosh those two. I mean I have had a horrible relationship and to this day can't stand my ex and we share a son and these two went through so much and she stood by his side no matter what.

I honestly hate some of the stuff these characters did but I love them flaws and all. I felt bad a lot for Eddie at times too and man I wish Simone had a bigger part too because she just seemed so awesome.

The twist at the end? NEVER saw that one coming. I know I will love this book with all my heart forever. It is one I will re read many times in my life and recommend it to everyone that I can.

If you are a fan of music, or intense stories, or amazing characters who gut you, if you can handle flaws, this book is for you.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page