top of page

Heartless


For those of you who don't know me very well yet, I am a hardcore Disney fan. So of course fairy-tale re-tellings are something I highly enjoy. The first author I read for these books were the lovely Robin Palmer. Geek Charming and Cindy Ella brought me to this world.

For Marissa Meyer, I heard of the Lunar Chronicles, but I am not really into Sci-Fi books. I hear a lot of great things about them, so who knows, maybe someday I will check them out, but when I found out Heartless wasn't like TLC, I decided to give it a try and OMG!

Heartless is a truly magical book that I fell head over heels in love with. I gave it a 5 star rating on Goodreads and it is one of my current favorite books! Here is the summary on Goodreads:

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen. At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship. Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

So while I do my best not to gush or fangirl too much, I have to stop and take a breath. Marissa did an amazing job by putting in our favorite characters like the White Rabbit, the Cheshire Cat, and the Mad Hatter. We got to see who Mary Ann is, got to see more of the foolish king and most importantly, we got Jest.

So just out of curiosity, did anyone picture Captain Guyliner as Jest while reading this? Colin O'Donoghue has that mystery that Jest has and it talked about the black around Jest's eyes, Colin wore guyliner as Hook so do you see where I am going with this?

Back to my review, the book had so much to love, the action, the romance, the gut wrenching moments! The writing was beautiful, the characters loveable.... Just, sigh.

I went into this book knowing that we would be upset by the events that led Cath to be the ruthless villan we all know her to be, but that didn't break my heart any less. Is that the point Marissa? You break our hearts so we are heartless?

When I closed the book for the final time that I finished, I knew that I would love this book for a long time. That I would recommend it to anyone I know who reads, that it would stay with me a long time.

I would love Marissa to write more books in vein of Heartless more than Cinder. I will keep my fingers crossed and eagerly watching her novel news in case I ever get lucky!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page