top of page

Half Year Review


Well here we are, half of the year behind us. Even with being a new mom, I have been able to read more books than I thought and have read SO many good books this year. So this post will be what books I read and my thoughts on them.

1. Bunheads by Sophie Flack: I started off the year doing a re-read on this book. I love ballet and books about ballet. So much that I am working on my debut novel and it is, you guessed it, about a ballet. I really enjoyed reading Bunheads and following the characters and what they go through. I would highly recommend this book to all of the ballet/dance fans out there.

2. Heir Today, Gone Tomorrow by Jenny Gardiner: Not a YA book, this is a book in a royalty series. I love reading books about royalty almost as much as I like to read about ballet. Whether it be fictional royals like this series or the real royals like Prince William and Prince Harry ect. If you are looking for a fun, sexy read, the It's Reigning Men series is for you.

3. Absent by Katie Williams: Told through the point of view of a ghost, Absent is one of those types of books I really enjoy. Emotional, beautifully written, and over all good story, if you are looking for a more serious read, this one will work for you.

4. Bad To the Throne by Jenny Gardiner: Book 3 in the series follows the next Prince and his adventures to love. Fun, easy read.

5. Love is in the Heir by Jenny Gardiner: Funny, sassy, book 4 in the series.

6. The Secret Letters of Marilyn Monroe and Jacqueline Kennedy by Wendy Leigh: I LOVE Jackie O. Reading a book like this was super fun and really made me think of the WHAT IF! What if Marilyn and Jackie were secret friends. What if what happened in history between them resulted in such letters? If you are a fan of either lady, this book is a fun read that will keep you turning pages.

7. Sleeping With Ward Cleaver by Jenny Gardiner: I decided to check out Jenny's other reads. Another adult book instead of YA, this book had laughs and was enjoyable but I do like the royal books better.

8. The Girl Who Came Home by Hazel Gaynor: I am not sure if this is considered YA. It is a historical fiction book based on the Titanic. It was beautifully written and touching and I highly recommend it.

9, Shame of Thrones by Jenny Gardiner: Sassy, sexy, fast paced.

10-14. Novella's by Courtney Hunt in the Cupid's Coffee shop shorts. They were cute easy reads.

15. I Got This by Laurie Hernandez: I love reading autobiographies of people I admire and I loved Laurie in the Olympics and on Dancing With The Stars. This book is great for gymnastics fans and an awesome way to learn more about this young star.

16. My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella: I worship Sophie. She writes amazing books that are so funny and fun to read. Read not only this book by her but all of them!

17. Liverpool Kiss by Di Jones: I guess I am in an adult reads kick at this point more than YA. Di Jones is a funny writer I discovered last year. Each and every one of her books are a gem. I think she has a way of connecting with her readers and brings so much fun to her stories. Liverpool Kiss in the second in her London Lights series.

18. Bending Under Pressure by Lindsay page: I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. I think Lindsay did a great job. I love contemporary books and I do recommend this read to contemporary lovers

19. The Vintage Summer Wedding by Jenny Oliver: An adult novel that wasn't what I really expected but it was a good read. Unfortunately compared to some of my other reads this year, this one didn't really stand out.

20. Starting Over on Blackberry Lane by Sheila Roberts: Ok guys This is a book from the Life In Icicle Falls series. An adult series but let me just tell you how OBSESSED I am with all of Sheila's books. She is a rockstar and you have to read her work. You won't be disappointed!

21. Sad Perfect by Stephanie Elliot: Another compelling contemporary, I really enjoyed reading this book. I have had an eating disorder myself not like this one, and I felt connected to the character

22. Just Friends by Monica Murphey: A good read, Nothing very exciting, a high school we used to be friends kind of story.

23. One Night by Monica Murphey: The Prequel to Just Friends.

24. By Your Side by Kasie West: I am a new fan of this woman and for good reason. She can really tell a cute story! I wish that it would have had more library time in it but other wise I was very very happy with how the story turned out

25. Behind Closed Doors: The contemporary that was one of the reasons that I wanted to do this blog. A contemporary that was different than I am used to, I recommend this book about hoarders and two girls who become unlikely allies.

26. Give Up the Ghost by Megan Crewe: I really enjoyed this book. Cass can see ghosts and uses it to help her learn secrets about her classmates to help others. I had a fun time reading this book and recommend it to paranormal fans.

27. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland: This got a 5 star rating on Goodreads from me. A contemporary that reminded me of Elinor and Park, I fell in love with these characters and their story.

28. Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow: There is a longer review and interview here on my blog, but this is a book I really connected to and enjoyed.

29. Throne For A Loop book 6 by Jenny Gardiner: Still loving this series!

30. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma: This was hyped big time on a couple of booktube shows I watched, I was excited to read this book and while it was good, it did not leave me sobbing and emotionally distraught like I thought it would.

31. Alex, Approximately by by Jenn Bennett: A cute love story, I really did enjoy this contemporary read. I look forward to reading more by Jenn.

32. It's Getting Hot In Heir book 7 by Jenny Gardiner: I am sad that this is the second to last book in the series. I know I am going to miss it. They aren't perfect and are just fast easy reads, but they are a fun escape!

33. The Return, Disney At Last by Ridley Pearson: I am so sad that the Kingdom Keepers series is over. I know a lot of people weren't a fan of this series but I love Disney and the idea behind these stories really appealed to me. If you love Disney, you should check out these books.

34. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: This book was so highly recommended that I was both excited and scared to read it. This was claimed to be the all time favorite book of many people. I read it and yes I loved it. I won't call it my favorite read of all time but it is a beautiful story and book, I loaned it to my aunt who really enjoyed it, then ruined it, but this is a book I will keep in my book collection and will continue to recommend it.

35. Heartless by Marissa Meyer: I have a longer post on this as well. I loved this book. Jest is one of my new book boyfriends. I adored him and the story and just want Marissa to write more books like this!

36. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard: I went back and re-read this book as the tv series was almost over. I wanted to go back to what started it all. I love the book series, I love the tv series I recommend both highly to all.

37. Barkin Bad by Di Jones: Not a part of her London Lights series, I love this series just as much if not more! She has funny and lovable characters and I just want you all to go check out her work, join her street team and help make her more known. I wish I knew Di personally because I want to know if she is as fun as all of her stories are.

38. A Court Of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: Oh my wow! I kept seeing this book all over bookstagram. I was afraid. I am a contemporary girl at heart, and hardly venture out of my comfort zone but I knew this was a Beauty and the Beast re-telling and decided to give it a go. THANK YOU ALL WHO HAVE RECOMMENDED THIS BOOK THAT I HAVE FALLEN MADLY IN LOVE WITH!

39. Someone Else's Summer by Rachel Bateman: I enjoyed this book. It made me teary, the twist annoyed me some what but this is a good book!

40. A Court Gesture by Jenny Gardiner: SOBS. The last book in the series. I enjoyed it and miss it already.

41. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur: A poetry collection that is has some wonderful poems in it, some raw emotion and a couple of let downs. Overall, I did like this collection.

42. Caraval by Stephanie Garber: I hear so many mixed reviews on this. Some hate it, some loved it. Personally I loved this book. I can hardly wait for book 2 and between Heartless, ACOTAR and Caraval, I feel blessed to have hit the jackpot with books.

43. A Court Of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas: Though we are in July, and I am not 100% finished with this, I decided to include it. Still madly in love with these books. Really looking forward to ACOWAR, Rhys is also a new book boyfriend! I LOVE the reads I have had the time to get through so far and am excited to see what the rest of the year brings me!

Stay tuned to see what other books I discover, largely in part to all of you.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page