top of page

November 9


So this week, I went for a NA book as well as a new author. I have to say, ever since I started really getting into bookstagram and booktube, I keep discovering new reads. November 9 by Colleen Hoover is yet another story that I decided to gamble with thanks to those platforms.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

I was able to get through it pretty quickly. It was a waves of emotions that had me laughing, swooning, crying and laughing out loud. I have been seeing around the Colleen gets a lot of flack for her books but honestly, I just needed a book like this. As much as I need the heavy, emotional stories, sometimes I just need cotton candy fluff as well.

I am sure there are a ton of readers out there who use books for all different kinds of escapes. Colleen does a very good job at being one of those authors. I do plan on picking up more of her books and continuing to try her out but I enjoyed November 9 over.

Fallon is a character that can come off as whiny and insecure, but what she has gone though would make me exactly the same way!

Ben. What can I say about Ben? He comes off as sexy. He is so flawed yet seems to be passionate about his love. Hell, I wouldn't mind a guy that has some of Ben's qualities. Sure, there are plenty of reasons of why I wouldn't want a guy like Ben either, but that is the great thing about fiction. You can have all the book boyfriends you want. You can choose between a romantic guy like Edward Cullen, a bad boy like The Darkling, or a flawed guy like Ben and so so much more.

I like how Colleen kept the story to be mostly contained in November 9. I wasn't sure how I would feel if it would show parts of the years and what was happening. I felt like if she did do that, it would be spoilers for when they got back together.

Thank you book community for taking me on another fun filled adventure!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page