top of page

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell


I have been so busy in life that I forgot last weeks post! I have been reading a variety of stories and one I found on booktube from Hayleeinbookland is The Wishing Spell. I am a huge fan of Disney and fairy tales as most people know so I just had to give this story a chance.

Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales. The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about. But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.

I haven't read much middle grade books over the last several years. I do think Disney After Dark series would be considered middle grade, but besides that, I haven't followed much of that genre. I am very glad I read this book because it was so cute and a new fun adventure. I am excited to read the entire series and then put them away for when my son is old enough to read them.

I must confess though, that since I am obsessed with the tv show Once Upon A Time, I read these fairy tale characters and can only picture those actors as the characters from this book.

This story was heart warming and I loved the relationship between twins, I loved the twist at the end and I am looking forward to the sequel.

There were a couple of comments that did make me raise my eyebrows because I was surprised that they would put them in a book for younger kids but then again, maybe I am too old fashioned and this generation is more advanced.

None the less, I gave this a rating of a 4.25 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend this book to fairy tale lovers.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page