top of page

The Hearts We Sold


Happy Halloween! Once again, I have fallen behind on my blogging! Where does life go? At least I was able to read a bit this month and one of those books was The Hearts We Sold. I decided to save this book for this month because it seemed Halloween spooky.

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined. With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

As you can see from this Goodreads summary, you can see why I thought it would be a bit of a spooky read. This story had a couple of my so called spooky moments that I wanted, but it was so much more! It was heart breaking, no pun intended!, it had romance and friendship and is the type of a book I love in a different setting.

I stepped out of my comfort zone with this book and was once again pleasantly surprised! Dee and James and their story really captured my emotional needs. Gremma was such an awesome side character. I did spill tears over this book, especially the ending!

I try to leave my reviews with little or no spoilers but OH MY GOSH I want to scream about some spoilers at the top of my lungs because there were a couple of things I did not see coming.

The story line also left me with some thoughts of my own. Would there be anything in the world that I would give up my heart for? I have to confess that yes I would. I am selfish for saying this but I would give up my heart if it meant not having to deal with my ex-boyfriend anymore. I hate the visitations between him and my son. I am frustrated with how everything turned up and I like being a single mom. Life is just easier with out him and to eliminate him completely from our lives, I would.

I love my son more than anything and just want to enjoy life. I understand where these characters are coming from. When you are desperate enough, you will do almost anything to make your wishes come true.

Does that make me a bad person? I'd like to think that it does not but everyone has their own opinion.

I highly recommend this book to people who have that one big wish in them. Who like stories that are almost like reality but have magic in them. Is that what a magical realism book is?

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page