top of page

Wonder


So it seems that I have been skipping around. I have been reading more middle school and adult books than normal. This time I have fallen in love with the middle school book Wonder. In case you missed it, here is the summary from Goodreads.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?

Auggie is a wonderful character whom reads cannot help but fall in love with. This book was so highly realistic, in the good and bad times. Unfortunately, kids these days are so cruel and we really were able to see that in this story. Not only in these days, even when I was in middle school, kids could be so cruel.

I have an aunt who is a third grade teacher and is currently reading this to her students, many teachers are sharing this story and I have heard that in some places it is required reading. I applaud the schools to be pushing for kids to read this and learn to be kinder to others. This year I have been blessed to read so many amazing books. The Hate You Give and Wonder are probably two of the most important books I have read because as much fun as it is to read fantasy, this books are real, they are so, so important with the way our world is.

I know my fellow readers will agree with me on just how powerful a novel is. Do you all remember that quote, "the pen is mightier than the sword"? Let us remember that we are all able to write the truth and share with the world what is right. Us normal people have the power to make a difference.

THUG reminds us of course that Black Lives Matter! ALL lives matter! Wonder reminds us that the most important thing is kindness! Why are we in a world where people are forgetting these simple notions? Why is the world allowing hatred to be everything?

I think our duty as readers are to share these gems that we find. When you read a book that touches your soul so full hearted, pass it on! Share these stories that change you, that way others who may not know of these books can have a chance to let themselves be changed.

JK Rowling united the world with Harry Potter. It doesn't matter if you are a female or male, black, white, pink, yellow, gay, straight, we all get a long united with her stories, well let us be united for all of our stories.

Auggie is a character full of strength. RJ created this character after her moment where she handled seeing a little girl with problems in a way she didn't feel right.

Look around everywhere and I am sure you will notice so many problems that you can try to make better. It all starts off small. These books are gifts and treasures. We can't take our gifts for granted, we have to use what power we have to change the world and push it to a positive time.

Enough negativity, enough bullying. United with our books, united we stand together.

If you have read this far, sorry for stepping on my soap box and sounding like I am preaching, but I am so passionate about reading and what books have done for me, I just hope my fellow bookstgram users and fellow fans feel the same way I do. Thank you for your time!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page