top of page

The Oracle Queen


Where can I even begin when it comes to Kendare Blakes writing? I became a fan of her work when I read Anna Dressed in Blood. I fell in love with her characters and her world and it scared me! I continued to fall into her fandom (Do we have a name? I mean there are Beliebers for Justin fans and if a crazy kid like that has fan names then Kendare deserves one. I call us Blakies in my head)

The Oracle Queen is my latest Kendare obsession. It is a novella to go along with her Three Dark Crown series, but I am sure all of you already know that. Just in case however, here is the summary:

Triplet queens born on the island of Fennbirn can be many things: Elementals. Poisoners. Naturalists. If an oracle queen is born, however, one with the gift of sight, she’s immediately drowned, extinguishing her chance at ever taking the throne. But that’s not how it always was. This cautionary practice started long ago, with Queen Elsabet—the legendary, and last, oracle queen—whose reign was tinged with blood and horror. Paranoid, ruthless, and utterly mad, Elsabet’s mistrust led to the senseless slaying of three entire houses of innocent people. At least, that’s the unchallenged tale carried down from generation to generation. But what really happened? Discover the true story behind the queen who, though born with the gift of sight, could not foresee her swift and sudden fall from power . . . until it was too late. Fans of the Three Dark Crowns series will be enthralled with Queen Elsabet’s genesis, riveted by her madness, and compelled by her tragic—and bloody—reign.

Doesn't it sound amazing? Well I can assure you that it is! Now that I have finished this from The Queens of Fennbirn, I am finally reading the second story in the series, One Dark Throne.

Let me start with this novella. Elsabet is such an amazing character and so intriguing. She is a strong woman who can really resonate with the women of the world today. While reading this, I felt as though Kendare was relating to what happens to us women. If we are different than what is expected, we aren't respected. Our strength can be a source of fear so people try to extinguish that power. I connected with Queen Elsabet because I saw someone I wanted to be. Someone strong. Someone to embrace the strengths I have.

I lost myself in her world and was so saddened when it came to an end. My chief complaint, it wasn't long enough. I know it was only meant to be a novella but I feel that Elsabet deserved her own full length novel. I want to know about her acending year. I want to know what happened after (SPOIL ALERT) she was locked in the tower and those closets to her were killed. I just wanted everything.

Now about Kendare as a writer. What I want to know is how does she do it? How can she write such different stories in style genres that are different? I have seen authors that attempt to change genres and fail and yet Kendare has done so beautifully. She is exactly the kind of author I want to be. I want to successfully write a contemporary novel and then be just as successful with a fantasy novel. Heck, there are at times where I want to live my childhood dream and write a poetry novel.

I am sure that there are other authors who have succeeded in this but Kendare is the writer I connect the most with. I can relate to her characters (no, I am not calling myself a murderous ghost, a goddess or a gifted queen) and her story telling is just amazing.

I wish I could interview her and really get to know her as a person and writer. Am I the only one who feels like one of their favorite authors is like a friend with out even meeting them or am I just that type of weirdo? If I am a weirdo I promise I am harmless!

Anyway, if there are people out there who have NOT given Kendare and her books a chance, I highly recommend that you do. She creates beautiful worlds, amazing characters and tells a story that will stick with you for a very long time.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page