top of page

Into 2020





Already seven days into the new year and my first pot since August 2019. No matter how much I want to update this, life just keeps getting in the way. So frustrating! I still got a lot of reading done and even passed my Goodreads goal by quit a bit so I am proud of myself for that but I think one of the issue's of updating this blog besides being so busy, is that last year I read a lot of adult books and adult romances and while I have done some reviews for adult books here, this blog is called HonestlyYA beause it SHOULD focus on YA books. I will continue to review YA but don't want to set too many limits and mess up again with this blog. Now let's look at last years goals and see what was met and what wasn't and set some new goals.


1. Potty train my baby. He is 2 years 7 months, if he is going to go to school in August he needs to be trained.


I am proud to say that this goal was MET! Aiden honestly potty trained himself just deciding one day he was going to do it.


2. Wean my son. Due to some difficulties with his other family and father I am his only comfort, so he nurses when he is hungry or upset. We need to find another outlet for him.


Ok this goal has not been met 100%. He has stopped nursing at night before sleep for the last five weeks but still nurses a bit.


3. Take a trip to a new location to continue to explore and grow with my son.


This goal was MET! This December we traveled to Sea Island Georgia and enjoyed a wonderful family vacation. We also went on a weekend trip to Carlsbad Caverans which I have not been to since I was his age and that was pretty fun as well.



4. My Goodreads reading goal is 50. My lowest goal yet but I have been passing all my goals so I figure I won't feel guilty for aiming low and I would be really sad if I put it too high and did not reach it.


I am proud to say I more than doubled this goal! I read 132 books. This was due to the fact that many nights I could not sleep and would read Ebooks but I am ok with that!


5. Write. Every year I say I am going to finish my novel. I've been working on it for 5 years and just have it half way done. The thing is I still love it as much as the day I had the idea. I still want to be a writer and I just have to accept that it will get done when it is done. As long as I still love it that is what is important. I need to do this for me.


Well, I did not finish my books but I did write at least a little, not enough. Not nearly enough.


6. Get a part time job while my son is at school. I haven't worked since March 2016 when my pregnancy got so bad I could hardly get out of bed.


Well, Aiden did not start preschool. He was not ready emotionally, but he did start tutoring to learn how to read and write and he also did a program at Waldorf school that allowed me to attend two hours every Friday with him so he could get used to a class room setting, so I did not get a job since I am still with Aiden.


7. Lose 10-15 pounds and keep it off!!!!!!


Nope. No. UGH.


8. Work on my blog and instagram (bookstagram) better. I have been slacking on both!


Well...... I didn't do the greatest job, but I did better on bookstagram than my blog.


9. See a new ballet or broadway show. My goal is Anastasia in Denver in August. I do this once or twice a year and it is just for me. I have to learn that doing something for me alone once in a while is healthy! (People keep telling me that but I have yet to believe it. Seriously my life is my son)


Goal metish. I did not see Anastasia in Denver but I did see Cats here in Albuquerque! I loved it and got the soundtrack and my son loves listening to it in the car.


10. Strengthen my religion and faith. I am a catholic and I was raised that way but lately, while I believe and love God whole heartedly, I find myself annoyed with our churches and it hurts my faith.


Still struggling some. I haven't been going to church the way I should be but I pray every day from my heart.


Ok so not all that bad but not great either. I am proud of what I was able to accomplish. Let's set this years goals.


1. Read 75 books this year. Goodreads goal.


2. 100% wean Aiden.


3. Teach Aiden how to read before August, preschool try again.


4. Seriously, can we PLEASE get the book finished?


5. Take at least one vacation with Aiden mom and dad.


6. See a new broadway show!


7. Figure out the next stage of my life.


8. Create some amazing memories with Aiden before school takes him away from me, figure out which school he will be attending.


9. Find a new passion and my recent obsession with Harry Styles and One Direction does NOT count. I still am feeling very weird about this.


10. Expand my cooking knowledge and learn even more dishes.


Well there you have it! Thanks fo reading this far if you did.



Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page